My Audiobook Recommendations for 2021

Audiobooks are a great way to expand your brain’s channel capacity or to just sit back, relax, and enjoy. I listened to some great stories, comedies, and management books. These are my suggestions:

Shobeir Seddington
3 min readJan 6, 2021

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project is the first book of a three-book series. I fell in love with the series in just 30 minutes! My wife recommended it to me. We listened to it together and shared many laughs through this comedic, yet heartfelt, story! The Audiobook’s narrator talks with a matter-of-fact Australian accent that matches the rigid, socially-aloof main character perfectly! It’s not your typical romantic comedy. It’s more than that because it enlightened my views in terms of mental health and understanding people who are on the autism spectrum.
The other two books in the series are great as well! Particularly, the second book, which takes place in New York City. Although as a Manhattan resident, I might be a bit biased. :) The other 2 books in the series are The Rosie Effect and The Rosie Result.

Keeping at It: The Quest for Sound Money and Good Government by Paul Volcker

I listened to this book twice! It’s the autobiography and life story of Paul Volcker, the former chair of the Federal Reserve. I first got to know him when Ray Dalio interviewed him and called him one of his heroes! This man’s integrity and love for public service are inspirational. Sadly, he passed away in December of 2019 and that’s when I decided to re-listen to this book. I rarely listen, read, or watch something more than once (The Office television show is an exception)!

If you are interested in monetary policies, government, or you are simply looking to get inspired to do good work and maintain your integrity this is an intriguing book to read/listen to.
(The book itself is like $2 on Kindle).

Trillion Dollar Coach: The Leadership Playbook of Silicon Valley’s Bill Campbell

Bill Campbell is an amazing man. He started late in the business world but managed to run some of the biggest companies in Silicon Valley. Campbell was a genuine leader who is not your typical CEO. This man commanded respect from some of the brightest minds in the world. After his death, few people, such as Eric Schmidt, tried to understand why Bill was so good at unifying teams and getting sh*% done!
This book provided the foundation for my quest to become a better leader.

Honorable Mentions:

Born a Crime is a thought-provoking, humorous, and interesting read about the well-known talk show host, Trevor Noah. It shed light on his life as an illegal mixed-race child during the Apartheid in South Africa.

I use Audible. Want to try it yourself? (Click here)! Want to give it to others as a gift? (Click here)!

--

--

Shobeir Seddington

Quantum Roots, Data Dreams: A Journey Through Science, Life, and the Art of Possibilities. "Opinions expressed are solely my own."